Speakers-Search
or
Bild

Benedikt Germanier

CEO of ZAI - The World's finest ski maker
Perspectives for Change

Do you have any questions about booking Benedikt Germanier?

Biography

BENEDIKT GERMANIER - CEO of ZAI - The World’s finest Ski maker

Perspectives for Change.

What motivates someone to give up a successful Wall Street career, move themselves and their family halfway around the world, and take a chance with a small start-up ski brand in the Swiss Alps?

Benedikt Germanier was a Chief Strategist at UBS, secure with all the comforts of a high-flying career in global finance, when he decided to swap it all to become CEO of Zai, a ski manufacturer with just 12 employees in the mountains of Graubünden.

Unlike his colleagues in the banking world, Benedikt was never motivated by bonuses or career glory. A professional ski instructor and tennis coach, he studied economics before pursuing a career in global finance. But when the financial crisis rocked Wall Street, the difference between his values and those of the industry he worked for became starkly clear.

Benedikt’s role as a finance expert for top broadcasters such as Bloomberg allowed him to observe the banks’ response to the crisis. He quickly realised that, instead implementing change, the industry was adopting a strategy of damage limitation, obfuscation and denial.

Ignoring the advice of colleagues, he left his job and chose instead to follow his passions. Moving back to his native Switzerland, he took the role of CEO at Zai, successfully guiding the company from little-known start-up to a global brand with 60 dealerships worldwide and partners including Bentley Motors and the FIS World Ski Championships.

Benedikt’s speeches are a call to action. He has a gift for inspiring people, giving them the impetus to change perspectives and take a fresh look at situations. His story illustrates what it means to break through old patterns and solve problems. He will the first to admit that this path is not always easy — but ultimately, value-based decisions are always rewarded. Whether for the individual or on a company level, taking those first brave steps off the trodden path never fails to open up doors to newfound freedoms.

top

Referenten-Suche
oder
Bild

Benedikt Germanier

CEO von ZAI - der exklusivsten Skimanufaktur der Welt
Perspektiven für Wandel

Sie haben Fragen zur Buchung von Benedikt Germanier?

Biografie

BENEDIKT GERMANIER - CEO von Zai – der exklusivsten Skimanufaktur der Welt

Perspektiven für Wandel

Benedikt Germanier war Spitzenbanker an der Wallstreet, bevor er CEO von Zai, einer kleinen Skimanufaktur in den Bündner Bergen wurde. Was treibt jemanden an, einfach so auf Karriere, Boni, Ruhm und Macht zu verzichten?

Schon immer ging er, oft entgegen allen "klugen" Ratschlägen, seinen Weg. Eine steile Karriere war nie sein Ziel, viel mehr liebte er seinen Beruf als Ski- und Tennislehrer. Nach einem Wirtschaftsstudium tauchte er in die Finanzwelt ein, wurde
nie ein typischer Banker, aber trotzdem Chief Strategist der UBS Amercias.

Als die Finanzkrise die Wallstreet erschütterte, analysierte er die Fehler. Schnell lernte er, dass Selbstkritik nicht gefragt war. Die Branche suchte eine Strategie um komfortabel und ohne grosse Abstriche weiter machen zu können wie bisher. Der Spagat zwischen seinen Wertvorstellungen und der Bankingrealität wurde immer grösser.

Er verliess seine Position, warf den Expertenstatus bei renommierten Sendern wie Bloomberg hin und zog zurück in die Schweiz, um eine junge Skimanufaktur mitzuentwickeln. Unter seiner Regie reihten sich zahlreiche Erfolge wie die Partnerschaft mit Bentley oder der Sponsoringvertrag mit dem FIS Downhill Worldcup.

Mit seinem Referat inspiriert er Menschen zum Handeln. Er gibt ihnen den Anstoss, Perspektiven zu wechseln und einen neuen Blick auf Situationen zu werfen. In seinen Geschichten erzählt er was es heisst, alte Muster zu durchbrechen, andere Wege zu gehen und Probleme zu lösen. Dabei verheimlicht er keineswegs, dass es zu Beginn anstrengend und alles andere als einfach ist. Doch wertorientierte Entscheidungen werden immer durch gewonnene Freiheit entschädigt. Dafür lohnt es sich, für Menschen wie für Unternehmen, mutig zu sein.

top