Speakers-Search
or
Bild

Stelios Haji-Ioannou

Entrepreneur, Founder of EasyGroup

Do you have any questions about booking Stelios Haji-Ioannou?

Biography

Chairman & Founder, EasyGroup - dubbed the "Serial Entrepreneur" - Stelios is the founder of the easyGroup of companies. At 37, he has already created 16 companies, the biggest of which is easyJet, the leading low cost airline. Launched in 1995 easyJet PLC listed on the London stock exchange in 2000. The average market capitalisation of easyJet during its last reported financial year (FY03) was approximately GBP 1 billion. Stelios is still the largest single shareholder with 18% of the stock. In total his family still own just over 40% of the company. Although not easy branded, Stelios founded another publicly traded company, Stelmar Tankers, which listed on the NYSE in 2001 and his family still own 20% of the stock.

Stelios founded his first venture, Stelmar Tankers, in 1992 which was in the shipping industry. Stelmar has a fleet of 41 tankers that are either in operation or on order. In 1995 he founded easyJet, a low-cost, "no frills", point to point airline that is taking advantage of the deregulation of the European airline industry.

In 1998 Stelios formed the easyGroup, a holding company to explore new ventures to extend the "Easy" brand and capitalise upon the expanding use of the Internet. All the companies described below are currently entirely or majority privately owned by Stelios. He is chairman of each one and remains very active in their day-to-day running.

The first such venture, easyInternetcafe, is the cheapest way to get online and started trading in June 1999. It has a growing number of Internet cafes across Europe and the New York area. easyCar, a car rental service that sells 95% online, started trading in April 2000 and is well established across Europe. Both easyInternetcafe and easyCar are currently growing through franchising their businesses. easyValue.com, impartial comparisons for online shopping, started trading in November 2000, the same month as the launch of the portal for all easyGroup companies www.easy.com which also offers a free web-based email service.

easyMoney, online financial services, launched with the world’s first dynamically personalised credit card in September 2001 and easyCinema, low cost movie theatres, launched in May 2003.

easyBus, low cost intercity travel, launched in August 2004 and the easyGroup continues to prepare other companies for launch including: easyMobile, easyPizza, easyMusic, easy4men, easyHotel and easyCruise.

In 1984 he moved to London to study at the London School of Economics, and he graduated in 1987 with a Bsc in Economics. The next year, 1988, he also graduated from the City University Business School with an Msc in Shipping Trade and Finance. After graduation he joined his father’s shipping company, Troodos shipping. In January ’92 he became the founding chairman of CYMEPA, the Cyprus Marine Environment Protection Association. This is a non-profit making association of ship owners and Cyprus based Business people who believe in sustainable development.

In 2004 Stelios has been invited to speak at Forbes CEO Europe Forum, International Hotel & Restaurant Association Congress, European Travel Commission, New York, Chartered Institute of Marketing, The Asia Leadership Series for Bloomberg, World Economic Forum China Summit, Foreign Press Association to name just a few.

Stelios is an inspiring and unique keynote speaker.

Weitere Referenten zu den Themen
top

Referenten-Suche
oder
Bild

Stelios Haji-Ioannou

Unternehmer, Gründer EasyGroup

Sie haben Fragen zur Buchung von Stelios Haji-Ioannou?

Biografie

Der Vorsitzende und Gründer der EasyGroup Stelios Haji-Ioannou wird auch «Serien-Unternehmer» genannt. Mit 37 Jahren hat er bereits 16 Unternehmen gegründet, das grösste davon ist die führende Billig-Airline easyJet. Das 1995 lancierte Unternehmen easyJet PLC ging 2000 in London an die Börse. Die durchschnittliche Marktkapitalisierung von easyJet im letzten offengelegten Bilanzjahr (BJ03) betrug beinahe eine Milliarde Britische Pfund. Stelios ist mit 18% der Aktien immer noch der grösste Einzelaktionär. Insgesamt sind mehr als 40% des Unternehmens im Besitz seiner Familie. Mit Stelmar Tankers gründete Stelios ein weiteres börsennotiertes Unternehmen – ohne den Markennamen easy –, seit 2001 an der New Yorker Börse und zu 20% in Familienbesitz.

1992 gründete Stelios sein erstes Unternehmen, die Reederei Stelmar Tankers. Stelmar verfügt über eine Flotte von 41 Tankern. 1995 gründete er die Billigfluggesellschaft easyJet, eine Punkt-zu-Punkt-Airline, die von der Deregulierung in der europäischen Luftfahrtbranche profitiert.

1998 schuf Stelios die easyGroup, eine Holding, um neue Geschäftsfelder zu erschliessen, die Marke «easy» auszubauen und aus der wachsenden Internetnutzung Kapital zu schlagen. Sämtliche nachfolgend genannten Unternehmen befinden sich derzeit vollständig oder zum Grossteil in Stelios’ Privatbesitz. Er ist jeweils im Verwaltungsrat aktiv und bleibt auch stark ins Tagesgeschäft involviert.

Das erste dieser Unternehmen, easyInternetcafe – der billigste Online-Zugang, nahm im Juni 1999 seine Tätigkeit auf. Es verfügt über eine wachsende Anzahl Internetcafés in ganz Europa und der Region New York. easyCar, eine Autovermietung, die zu 95% online operiert, wurde im April 2000 eröffnet und ist europaweit bekannt. Sowohl easyInternetcafe als auch easyCar befinden sich derzeit dank Franchising im Wachstum. easyValue.com, ein Internet-Vergleichsdienst fürs Online-Shopping, nahm im November 2000 den Betrieb auf, dem Monat, in dem für alle easyGroup-Unternehmen das Internetportal www.easy.com lanciert wurde, das auch einen kostenlosen Webmail-Dienst anbietet.

easyMoney, ein Online-Finanzdienstleister, wurde im September 2001 mit der weltweit ersten dynamisch personalisierten Kreditkarte gestartet, easyCinema, eine Billig-Kinokette, nahm im Mai 2003 den Betrieb auf.

easyBus, ein Billig-Intercity-Busunternehmen, wurde im August 2004 lanciert. Die easyGroup nimmt weiterhin Unternehmensgründungen vor, wie easyMobile, easyPizza, easyMusic, easy4men, easyHotel und easyCruise.

1984 zog Stelios Haji-Ioannou nach London, um an der London School of Economics zu studieren, die er 1987 mit einem Bachelor in Wirtschaftswissenschaften abschloss. Im darauffolgenden Jahr erwarb er an der City University Business School einen Master in Shipping Trade and Finance. Nach Studienende arbeitete Stelios in der väterlichen Reederei Troodos Shipping. Im Januar 1992 wurde er zum Gründer und Vorsitzenden der CYMEPA (Cyprus Marine Environment Protection Association), einer Non-Profit-Vereinigung von Schiffseignern und Geschäftsleuten auf Zypern, die an eine nachhaltige Entwicklung glauben.

2004 war Stelios unter anderem bei folgenden Anlässen als Redner eingeladen: Forbes CEO Europe Forum, Kongress der International Hotel & Restaurant Association, European Travel Commission, New York, Chartered Institute of Marketing, The Asia Leadership Series for Bloomberg, World Economic Forum China Summit, Foreign Press Association.

Stelios ist ein inspirierender, einzigartiger Referent.

top