Speakers-Search
or
Bild

Sahar Hashemi

Entrepreneur, Founder of Coffee Republic

Do you have any questions about booking Sahar Hashemi?

Biography

Sahar Hashemi, a former lawyer, founded Coffee Republic, the UK’s first US style coffee bar chain with her brother and built it into one of the UK’s most recognised high street brands with a turnover of £30m.  She made Coffee Republic one of the first players in the ‘coffee revolution’ that transformed the UK high street.  Sahar is an internationally recognized speaker, whose captivating and uplifting speeches combine her own enthralling story with key themes of entrepreneurial leadership, innovation, customer service, change management and employee engagement.

Sahar left the day to day management of Coffee Republic in 2001 and published a bestselling book called ‘Anyone Can Do It- building Coffee Republic from our kitchen table’’ which has been translated into 6 languages and is 2nd highest selling book on entrepreneurship on Amazone after Richard Branson’s book.  In 2005 Sahar Hashemi started Skinny Candy, high profile brand of guilt-free sweets which she sold to confectionery conglomerate Glisten plc in 2007.

Her latest book ‘Switched On: 10 Habits to Being Highly Effective in Your Job, and Loving it ’ focuses on creating an entrepreneurial mindset for employees in large companies.  Sahar says, "The future is all about being entrepreneurial in the employee context. You need to bring your whole personality – not just the ‘professional’ you - to work. Move outside your comfort zone, ignite your innate creativity and forget the ‘this is how we’ve always done things’ mentality. Don’t fear failure, fear complacency.

In 2011 Sahar Hashemi was nominated by Director magazine as one of the Top 10 Original Thinkers, taking her place alongside individuals such as Sir Tim Berners-Lee, the inventor of the World Wide Web and Jonathan Ives, Vice-President of Design at Apple and designer of the iPod. It praised her view that, "Entrepreneurially minded talent shouldn’t have to leave large corporations in order to achieve fulfilment. Entrepreneurial behaviour, including ideas like bootstrapping, prototyping and celebrating failure, can help turn stuffy corporations into creative environments. They can also transform automatons into valued, engaged employees".

In 2011 she was also invited to join the Entrepreneurs Forum set up by UK Business Minister Vince Cable to give advice to the government on enterprise and business policies.  In June 2012 Sahar was awarded an OBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list "for services to the UK economy and to charity".  Sahar was named ‘Pioneer to the life of the nation’ by Her Majesty The Queen and a Young Global Leader by the World Economic Forum in Davos. She was also named one of 100 most influential women in Britain by the Daily Mail.

Sahar writes a regular management column for Business Strategy Review, published by the London Business School.  She is a member of the Customer Council of E.On, the energy group, representing the voice of the customer at board level.  By telling her very personal journey, she connects with the audience on an emotional level and brings to life the passion, determination and open mindedness needed to succeed.  She outlines the Habits that are the cornerstone of Switched On and  ignites the audience with a ‘can do’ spirit and the tools and habits to ‘make it happen’.

Topics:
•    The Switched On Mindset - Igniting Creativity and innovation
•    Entrepreneurial Leadership – Encouraging entrepreneurial behaviour in a corporate environment
•    Customer Service – Stepping Into the Customer’s Shoes
•    Branding- Understanding True Brand Value
•    Embracing Change – Working Outside your Comfort Zone

Publications
  • Bild Switched On
  • Bild Anyone can do it
Images
  • Bild
  • Bild
More Speakers for the same Topics
top

Referenten-Suche
oder
Bild

Sahar Hashemi

Unternehmerin, Gründerin von Coffee Republic

Sie haben Fragen zur Buchung von Sahar Hashemi?

Biografie

Sahar Hashemi, ehemals Rechtsanwältin, gründete zusammen mit ihrem Bruder Coffee Republic, die erste Café-Kette Grossbritanniens im amerikanischen Stil, und baute damit eine führende Marke mit einem Umsatz von 30 Millionen Pfund auf. Coffee Republic war einer der wichtigsten Player der «Kaffee-Revolution», die das englische Strassenbild veränderte. Hashemi ist eine international bekannte Rednerin, die in ihren packenden und bewegenden Vorträgen ihre eigene spannende Geschichte mit zentralen Themen wie unternehmerischem Denken, Kundendienst, Change-Management und Mitarbeiterengagement verknüpft.

Hashemi zog sich 2001 aus dem Tagesgeschäft von Coffee Republic zurück und veröffentlichte den Bestseller «Anyone Can Do It – Building Coffee Republic from Our Kitchen Table», in 6 Sprachen übersetzt und nach Richard Bransons Buch der am häufigsten auf Amazon bestellte Titel zum Thema Unternehmertum. 2005 lancierte Hashemi Skinny Candy, eine bekannte Marke kalorienarmer Süssigkeiten, die sie 2007 an den Süsswarenhersteller Glisten plc verkaufte.

Ihr neuestes Buch «Switched On: 10 Habits to Being Highly Effective in Your Job, and Loving it» fokussiert auf die Bildung des unternehmerischen Denkens bei Mitarbeitenden in Grossunternehmen. Hashemi schreibt darin: «In Zukunft kommt es vor allem darauf an, den Unternehmergeist bei Mitarbeitenden zu entwickeln. Es gilt die gesamte Persönlichkeit in die Arbeit einzubringen, nicht nur die "professionelle" Seite. Bewegen Sie sich aus der Komfortzone heraus, wecken Sie Ihre angeborene Kreativität und vergessen Sie die So-haben-wir-es-immer-gemacht-Mentalität. Fürchten Sie sich nicht vor Fehlern, fürchten Sie sich vor Selbstzufriedenheit.»

2011 wurde Sahar Hashemi vom britischen Magazin Director in die Top Ten der Vordenker aufgenommen, neben Leuten wie Sir Tim Berners-Lee, dem Erfinder des World Wide Web, und Jonathan Ives, Design-Vizechef bei Apple und Designer des iPod. Die Wirtschaftszeitschrift lobte ihre Sicht, dass «unternehmerische Talente nicht Grossunternehmen verlassen müssen sollten, um Erfüllung zu finden. Unternehmerisches Verhalten wie Bootstrapping, Prototyping und "aus Fehlern lernen" kann dazu beitragen, aus trägen Betrieben kreative Umfelder zu machen. Es kann auch Automaten in wertvolle, engagierte Mitarbeitende verwandeln.»

2011 wurde Hashemi ins vom britischen Staatssekretär Vince Cable gebildete Unternehmerforum aufgenommen, das die Regierung in Business- und Unternehmensfragen berät. Im Juni 2012 erhielt sie auf der «Birthday Honours List» der Queen einen Orden des British Empire für ihre «Verdienste für die Wirtschaft des Vereinigten Königreichs und ihre karitative Arbeit». Sahar Hashemi wurde von Ihrer Majestät zum «Pioneer to the life of the nation« ernannt, vom Weltwirtschaftsforum in Davos zum Young Global Leader. Die britische Tageszeitung Daily Mail bezeichnete sie als eine der 100 einflussreichsten Frauen Grossbritanniens.

Hashemi schreibt regelmässig eine Management-Kolumne für die Business Strategy Review, eine Publikation der London Business School. Beim Energieanbieter E.ON gehört sie dem Customer Council an, einem Organ, das die Stimme des Kunden auf der Stufe des Verwaltungsrats vertritt. Beim Erzählen ihres persönlichen Werdegangs spricht sie die Zuhörer emotional an und lässt Leidenschaft, Entschlossenheit und Unvoreingenommenheit lebendig werden – Eigenschaften, die es für den Erfolg braucht. Sie beschreibt die Denkweisen, auf denen Switched On beruht, infiziert ihre Zuhörerschaft mit einem «Can-do-spirit» und gibt ihr Instrumente und Einstellungen an die Hand, die Dinge «wahr werden» lassen.

Themen:
•    Die «Switched On» Einstellung – Kreativität und Innovation wecken
•    Unternehmerisches Denken – Fördern unternehmerischen Verhaltens im Betrieb
•    Kundendienst  – In die Haut des Kunden schlüpfen
•    Branding  – Verstehen des wahren Markenwertes
•    Änderungen herbeiführen – Arbeiten ausserhalb der Komfortzone

Publikationen
  • Bild Switched On
  • Bild Anyone can do it
Bilder
  • Bild
  • Bild
top