Speakers-Search
or
Bild

Ottmar Hitzfeld

Football-Coach

Do you have any questions about booking Ottmar Hitzfeld?

Biography

In 1991, Ottmar Hitzfeld left Switzerland to take up the post of head coach with the Bundesliga team Borussia Dortmund, where he quickly rose to prominence and became one of world football’s most acclaimed coaching personalities. He shaped Dortmund into a premier European team, celebrated Champions League victory and won the Intercontinental Cup with them, and was rewarded in 1997 with the World Coach of the Year accolade.

After spending a year as sports director at BVB, he moved to Bayern Munich, took over a team that had long been considered un-trainable and led them in a very short time into the top group of the club world rankings. Possessing an obsession with success ("a winning mentality to me means wanting to win every game. Even a training game"), Hitzfeld won the most coveted trophy in European club football – the Champions League – in 2001 with the Bavarians, for the second time in his career after lifting the cup with Dortmund. Hitzfeld and José Mourinho are the only coaches to date who have achieved this feat with more than one club.

The native of Lörrach close to the Swiss border not only stands out from the majority of his colleagues on account of his sporting achievements, but also on account of his appearance: the family man always displays a calm and balanced demeanour on the football pitch. Style is important to him – the always well turned-out Hitzfeld exudes class, lifestyle, seriousness and reliability. It is no coincidence that he goes by the nickname "The General".

The Deutscher Fussball-Bund describes in its chronicle "100 Jahre DFB" the secret of Hitzfeld’s success thus: "With competency, authority, charisma, distance and psychological intuitiveness, Hitzfeld embodies the "reliable magician" type of coach". Total commitment is his credo – a drive that has led to boundary-pushing experiences. Hitzfeld, who has excelled in working with many often troubled star players, has his own experience with the term "burn out" and does not shy from talking openly about it.

His themes are team leading and stress management. He does not intend to come across like a professor "who can surely impart knowledge better than I", says the trained mathematician. His strength is his genuineness "because I’ve been through it all. I can reveal solution options based on my experience in people management and decision making under pressure."

It is interesting that Hitzfeld can also lay claim to Olympic fame; after all he was – together with Ulli Hoeness – a member of the Federal Republic of Germany’s 1972 Olympic squad. History was surprisingly made with the 1:0 German Democratic Republic’s victory over the West German selection at the World Championships in 1974, after such a clash had already taken place at the Munich Olympics (3:2 for the GDR). On 8 September 1972, Hitzfeld scored the interim 2:2.

At the end of January 2007, Hitzfeld returned as head coach to Bayern Munich, where he won the German title again as well as the DFB trophy. His next step to national coach was therefore a natural progression.

Ottmar Hitzfeld has been head coach of the Swiss national football team since 1 July 2008, leading the squad to the Football World Championships 2010 in South Africa and 2014 in Brasil.

Publications
  • Bild Ottmar Hitzfeld - Die Biographie
More Speakers for the same Topics
top

Referenten-Suche
oder
Bild

Ottmar Hitzfeld

Fussball-Experte, Autor
Ottmar Hitzfeld: Siegen - BurnOut - Champions League.

Sie haben Fragen zur Buchung von Ottmar Hitzfeld?

Biografie

Ottmar Hitzfeld kam 1991 aus der Schweiz als Coach in der Bundesliga zu Borussia Dortmund und stieg dort innerhalb weniger Jahre zu einer der Trainerpersönlichkeiten des Weltfußballs auf. Zunächst formte er die Dortmunder zu einem europäischen Spitzenteam, wurde Champions League- und Weltpokalsieger sowie 1997 zum Welttrainer des Jahres gekürt.

Nach einem Jahr als Sportdirektor beim BVB wechselte er zum FC Bayern München und führte die jahrelang als untrainierbar geltende Mannschaft in kürzester Zeit in die Spitzengruppe der Club-Weltrangliste. Der erfolgsbesessene Hitzfeld ("Siegermentalität heißt für mich, jedes Spiel gewinnen wollen. Selbst ein Trainingsspiel") gewann 2001 mit Bayern München nach Dortmund zum zweiten Mal in seiner Trainerlaufbahn die begehrteste Trophäe des europäischen Vereinsfußballs, die Champions League. Hitzfeld und José Mourinho sind die einzigen Trainer, der diesen Triumph mit mehr als einem Verein erzielen konnten.

Der gebürtige Lörracher hebt sich aber nicht nur durch seine sportlichen Erfolge von der Mehrzahl der Trainer ab, sondern auch rein äußerlich: auf dem Spielfeld wirkt der Familienvater stets ruhig und ausgeglichen. Er legt Wert auf Stil, ist stets gut gekleidet und strahlt Klasse, Lifestyle, Seriosität und Zuverlässigkeit aus. Nicht umsonst trägt er den Titel "Der General".

Der DFB beschreibt in seiner Chronik "100 Jahre DFB" das Geheimnis seines Erfolges wie folgt: "Mit Kompetenz, Autorität, Ausstrahlung, Distanz und psychologischem Feingefühl verkörpert Hitzfeld den Trainertyp des seriösen Magiers." Totales Engagement ist sein Credo, eine Motivation, die zur Grenzerfahrung wurde. Hitzfeld, der das Arbeiten mit vielen, oft sehr problematischen Stars des Fußballs meisterte, kennt den Begriff "Burn Out" aus eigener Erfahrung und spricht offen darüber.

Sein Thema ist die Teamführung und Stressbewältigung. Dabei will er nicht auftreten wie ein Professor, "der das sicher besser vermitteln kann als ich", so der studierte Mathematiker. Seine Stärke ist die Authentizität, "weil ich das alles durchlebt habe. Ich kann Lösungsmöglichkeiten offen legen, wie ich Menschen geführt oder unter Druck Entscheidungen getroffen habe."

Interessant ist, dass Hitzfeld auch von olympischen Erfahrungen berichten kann, schließlich stand er – zusammen mit Uli Hoeneß – 1972 im "Ringe-Kader" der Bundesrepublik. Zeitgeschichte ist erstaunlicherweise der 1:0-Erfolg der DDR über die westdeutsche Auswahl bei der WM 1974, dabei gab es bereits bei Olympia in München eine solche Partie (3:2 für die DDR). Hitzfeld schoss am 8. September 1972 das zwischenzeitliche 2:2.

Seit Ende Januar 2007 war er zum zweiten Mal bei Bayern München Trainer, gewann erneut den deutschen Titel und gewann den DFB-Pokal. Der Schritt zum Nationaltrainer war nur folgerichtig.

Ottmar Hitzfeld war vom 1. Juli 2008 bis zum 1. Juli 2014 Trainer der Schweizer Nationalmannschaft und führte das Team zur Weltmeisterschaft 2010 in Südafrika und 2014 zur Weltmeisterschaft nach Brasilien.

Publikationen
  • Bild Ottmar Hitzfeld - Die Biographie
Bilder
  • Bild
  • Bild
  • Bild
Video & Audio
  • Ottmar Hitzfeld (Fussballexperte und Autor) im Gespräch | International Retail Summit 2016
top