Speakers-Search
or
Bild

Jean-Claude Trichet

President of the European Central Bank (2003-2011)

Do you have any questions about booking Jean-Claude Trichet?

Biography

Born in Lyon, Jean-Claude Trichet is an Inspecteur général des Finances and Ingénieur civil des Mines and an Honorary Governor of the Banque de France. He is a graduate of the Ecole nationale supérieure des Mines de Nancy, of the Institut d’études politiques de Paris, of the Université de Paris (in economics) and of the Ecole nationale d’administration. He worked in the competitive sector from 1966 to 1968. He was appointed to the Inspection générale des Finances in 1971. He was assigned to various posts at the Ministry of Finance in the General Inspectorate of Finance and later in the Treasury Department, where in 1976 he became Secretary General of the Interministerial Committee for Improving Industrial Structures (CIASI).

Jean-Claude Trichet was made an adviser to the cabinet of the Minister of Economic Affairs (René Monory) in 1978, and then an adviser to the President of the Republic (Valery Giscard d’Estaing) in the same year. In this capacity, he worked on issues relating to energy, industry, research and microeconomics from 1978 to 1981. He subsequently became Deputy Director of Bilateral Affairs at the Treasury Department from 1981 to 1984 and Head of International Affairs, also at the Treasury, and was Chairman of the Paris Club (sovereign debt rescheduling) from 1985 to 1993. In 1986, he directed the Private Office of the Minister of Economic Affairs, Finance and Privatisation (Edouard Balladur), and in 1987 he became Director of the Treasury. In the same year, he was appointed Censor of the General Council of the Banque de France and Alternate Governor of the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank. He was Chairman of the European Monetary Committee from 1992 until his appointment as Governor of the Banque de France in 1993. He was the Chairman of the Monetary Policy Council of the Banque de France as of 1994, a member of the Council of the European Monetary Institute from 1994 to 1998 and thereafter a member of the Governing Council of the European Central Bank. At the end of his first term as Governor of the Banque de France, he was reappointed for a second term.

Jean-Claude Trichet was elected Chairman of the Group of Ten (G10) Governors on 29 June 2003. He served as President of the European Central Bank for a eight yearsfrom November 2003 to 2011. He is now an Honorary Governor of the Banque de France.

He was named "Person of the Year" by the Financial Times (2007), "Policy maker of the year" twice by The International Economy magazine (1991 and 2007), and has received a number of awards including the "Prix franco-allemand de la Culture/Deutsch-Französischer Kulturpreis" (2006) and the "Ludwig Erhard Memorial Coin in Gold" (2007). He has been awarded honorary doctorates by a number of universities. Jean-Claude Trichet is a Commandeur de la Légion d’honneur and has been awarded several foreign honours.

Weitere Referenten zu den Themen
top

Referenten-Suche
oder
Bild

Jean-Claude Trichet

Präsident der Europäischen Zentralbank (2003-2011)

Sie haben Fragen zur Buchung von Jean-Claude Trichet?

Biografie

Der in Lyon geborene Jean-Claude Trichet ist diplomierter Bergbauingenieur und Ehrenpräsident der Französischen Nationalbank. Er studierte an der Ecole nationale supérieure des Mines in Nancy, am Pariser Institut d’études politiques, an der Universität Paris (Wirtschaftswissenschaften) und der Elitehochschule Ecole nationale d’administration. Von 1966 bis 1968 war er in der Privatwirtschaft tätig. 1971 wurde Trichet in die Abteilung für Wirtschaftsprüfung des Wirtschafts- und Finanzministeriums Frankreichs berufen. Hier bekleidete er verschiedene Ämter und wurde 1976 zum Generalsekretär des Interministeriellen Ausschusses für die Verbesserung der industriellen Strukturen (CIASI) ernannt.

1978 wurde Jean-Claude Trichet Berater des damaligen Wirtschaftsministers René Monory und noch im selben Jahr Berater des Präsidenten der Französischen Republik Valery Giscard d’Estaing. In dieser Funktion war er von 1978 bis 1981 in den Bereichen Energie, Industrie, Forschung und Mikroökonomie tätig. In der Folge war Trichet im Finanzministerium stellvertretender Direktor der Abteilung Bilaterale Angelegenheiten (1981-1984) und Leiter der Abteilung Internationale Angelegenheiten. Von 1985 bis 1993 hatte er den Vorsitz des Pariser Clubs (Umschuldung zahlungsunfähiger Staaten) inne. 1986 leitete er das Privatbüro des Wirtschafts- und Finanzministers Edouard Balladur und wurde 1987 zum Leiter des Schatzamtes. Im selben Jahr wurde er zum Zensor des Exekutivrats der Französischen Nationalbank und zum Stellvertretenden Gouverneur des Internationalen Währungsfonds und der Weltbank berufen. Ab 1992 war Trichet Vorsitzender des Europäischen Währungsausschusses, bis er 1993 zum Chef der Französischen Nationalbank ernannt wurde. 1994 war er Vorsitzender des Rats für Geldpolitik der Französischen Nationalbank, 1994 bis 1998 Mitglied des Rats des Europäischen Währungsinstituts und dann Mitglied des Erweiterten Rats der Europäischen Zentralbank. Nach Beendigung seiner ersten Amtszeit als Chef der Französischen Nationalbank wurde er für eine zweite Amtszeit gewählt.

Jean-Claude Trichet wurde am 29. Juni 2003 zum Vorsitzenden der Zehnergruppe (G10) gewählt. Er war während acht Jahren (November 2003 bis 2011) Präsident der Europäischen Zentralbank. Er ist heute Ehrenpräsident der Französischen Nationalbank.

2007 wurde Trichet von der Financial Times zur «Person of the Year» ernannt, vom The International Economy Magazine zweimal (1991 und 2007) zum «Policy maker of the year». Er erhielt ausserdem zahlreiche Preise, unter anderem den Deutsch-Französischen Kulturpreis (2006) und die Ludwig-Erhard-Gedenkmünze in Gold (2007). Von mehreren Universitäten wurde er mit dem Ehrendoktortitel ausgezeichnet. Jean-Claude Trichet ist «Commandeur de la Légion d’honneur» und erhielt zahlreiche internationale Ehrenpreise.

Weitere Referenten zu den Themen
top